July 11, 2019–August 15, 2019
6 p.m.–8 p.m.
Poignant and Pithy: Writing and Submitting Flash Nonfiction

Open Seats
Regular $210.00
Low Income $147.00
Member $189.00
Creative Nonfiction
Open to All Levels
Open Book-Loft Classroom
Number of Sessions
Day of the Week
6 Week
Creative Nonfiction Graphic

In this class, we will read, analyze, write, edit, polish and submit flash nonfiction pieces. Flash nonfiction calls our attention to detail. We can focus on quality over quantity, poring over word choice and raising our own standard of excellence at the sentence level. We will work on drafting and editing, knowing when a piece is ready to submit. We will read from easily accessible online flash nonfiction venues including 100 Word Stories, River Teeth's Beautiful Things, Brevity Magazine, NYT's Modern Love, NYT Magazine's Lives, The New Yorker's Shouts & Murmurs and O Magazine. These venues regularly accept open submissions. Writing prompts will help hone in on a true moment or follow a thread through time and space to write beautiful and brief prose. We will workshop pieces and students will receive ample feedback and encouragement from the instructor. Students will receive a list of venues to submit to and be supported in moving pieces from draft to submittable.

Each class will consist of: free writing time (10%), workshopping sentences (25%), analyzing the reading (25%), workshopping a full piece(s) (25%), and partner polishing (15%).

Nothing is required before the first class. Writers will receive all required reading in a weekly handout, although more will be easily available online. There will be a brief reading and writing assignment for each class with an aim on quality over volume. A copy fee of $5 is appreciated.

Writers in the reading packets include Erika Anderson, Rajpreet Heir, Bryn Chancellor, Sean Thomas Dougherty, Christina Tang-Bernas, Deeshaw Philyaw, Joe Blair, Amy Hemple, Andrew Rennells, David Hollander, Marcia DeSanctis, Heidi Czerwiec, Jia Lim, Shara Concepci?n, Gay Degani, Lavanya Vasudevan, Mir-Yashar Seyedbagheri, and Amy L. Bethke.