Wordplay Lineup!

Wordplay Lineup 2019

The Loft's Wordplay, presented by St. Catherine University and Star Tribune, represents a phenomenal year in books! This lineup brings together some of our best contemporary writers from best-sellers to emerging artists, locally grown to internationally celebrated, emerging to award-winning—including several Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalists and winners.

We will also be kicking off the weekend with a concert at First Avenue featuring the Rock Bottom Remainders. The weekend features more than 100 authors including Stephen King, Mitch Albom, Tommy Orange, Amy Tan, Dave Barry, Jared Diamond, Edwidge Danticat, Natasha Trethewey, Bill Mckibben, and many more. We can't wait to celebrate May 11-12 with all the readers and writers in the region. Registration opens March 14 for Loft members, March 15 for the general public.

As with any big effort like Wordplay, our lineup and schedule are subject to change. We will post any lineup updates at the top of this page as soon as we know them. 

  • Due to a scheduling conflict, Jamaica Kincaid will no longer be able to attend Wordplay.
Jennifer Acker
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Arvin Ahmadi
Enjeela Ahmadi-Miller
Mitch Albom
Charlie Jane Anders
Rebecca KS Ansari
Ana Aranda
Kristen Arnett
Swati Avasthi
Dave Barry
Sam Barry
Gabrielle Bell
Chaya Bhuvaneswar
Bryan Bliss
Roy Blount Jr.
Pseudonymous Bosch
H.M. Bouwman
Jacqueline Briggs Martin
Jericho Brown
Nick Bruel
Frank Bures
Nickolas Butler
Cathy Camper
Anders Carlson-Wee
Tina Chang
Ryan Chapman
Franny Choi
Nicole Chung
Mark Conway
Edwidge Danticat
Larry Day
Jared Diamond
Jennifer Kwon Dobbs
Beth Dooley
Mark Doten
Jennifer duBois
Geoff Dyer
Helen Ellis
Heid Erdrich
Anika Fajardo
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
Michele Filgate
T Fleischmann
Fernando Flores
Ross Gay
Peter Geye
Dobby Gibson
Raul Gonzalez III
Lori Gottlieb
Rachel Howzell Hall
Rachel Hawkins
Sheila Heti
Kimberly Willis Holt
LeAnne Howe
Abdi Nor Iftin
Greg Iles
Pico Iyer
Mitchell S. Jackson
Mira Jacob
Marlon James
Lacy M. Johnson
Mary Karr
Lynne Kelly
Angie Kim
Stephen King
Laila Lalami
Lorna Landvik
J.M. Lee
Ed Bok Lee
Linda LeGarde Grover
Mélina Mangal
Arkady Martine
Vanessa McGrady
Will McGrath
Nora McInerny
Bill McKibben
Mindy Mejia
Sandhya Menon
Mette Nielsen
Daniel José Older
Tommy Orange
Gregory Pardlo
Morgan Parker
Ridley Pearson
Angela Pelster
Benjamin Percy
Mary Laura Philpott
Dawn Quigley
Scott Reintgen
Marcie Rendon
Irina Reyn
Lilliam Rivera
Caleb Roehrig
Hank Phillippi Ryan
Julia Sarcone-Roach
Julie Schumacher
Jared Yates Sexton
Dani Shapiro
Beowulf Sheehan
신 선 영 Sun Yung Shin
Kristen Simmons
Sarah Stonich
Amy Tan
Krista Tippett
Miriam Toews
Natasha Trethewey
David Treuer
Scott Turow
Luis Alberto Urrea
Anne Ursu
Saymoukda Duangphouxay Vongsay
Scott Warren
Amy Webb
Esmé Weijun Wang
Scott Westerfeld
Eliza Wheeler
Mike Wohnoutka
Alan Zweibel