Novel Writing Project Specifics

Cohort Meetings

Participants will meet weekly as a cohort during the Winter/Spring term (12 weeks; February–April), biweekly with additional Saturday meetings during the summer months (June–August); and weekly again during the Fall Term (12 weeks; September–December).

The In-person Cohort will meet at the Loft at Open Book, in Downtown Minneapolis.

The Online Cohort will meet via live video meetings over Zoom.

One-on-one meetings with Peter Geye will also be held over the course of the year. These include one introductory meeting before the program kicks off in February, and one manuscript consultation session with Peter after the program concludes (and you submit your final manuscript) in December. 
 

In-person Cohort Meeting Dates

at the Loft at Open Book

Year-Long Writing Project Orientation
Tue., January 26, 2021 | 6–7:30 p.m.

Winter/Spring Term Meetings
February 4 – April 22
Thursdays | 6–9 p.m.

Summer Term Meetings
Thu., June 10 | Sat., June 29 | Thu., June 24
Thu., July 15 | Sat., July 24 | Thu., July 29
Thu., Aug. 12 | Sat., Aug 28
All Summer Thursday sessions meet 6–9 p.m.
All Summer Saturday sessions meet 10 a.m. – noon

Fall Term Meetings
September 23 – December 16
Thursdays | 6–9 p.m.
No class November 25

Final Public Reading
Thu., January 13, 2022 | 7 p.m.
 

Online Cohort Meeting Dates

via Zoom | all times listed in US Central Time

Year-Long Writing Project Orientation
Tue., January 19| 6–7:30 p.m.

Winter/Spring Term Meetings
February 2 – April 20
Tuesdays | 6–9 p.m.

Summer Term Meetings
Tue., June 8 | Sat., June 19 | Tue., June 22
Tue., July 13 | Sat., July 24 | Tue., July 27
Tue., Aug. 10 | Sat., Aug 28
All Summer Tuesday sessions meet 6–9 p.m.
All Summer Saturday sessions meet 2–4 p.m.

Fall Term Meetings
September 21 – December 14
Tuesdays | 6–9 p.m.
No class November 23

Final Public Reading
Tue., January 11, 2022 | 7 p.m.
 

Novel Writing Project Books

Participants will be assigned four novels to read and learn from throughout the year. Examples of past cohort novel assignments include:

  • That Kind of Mother by Rumaan Alam
  • The Wildlands by Abby Geni
  • The Rending and the Nest by Kaethe Schwehn 
  • Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
  • The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli
  • Once in a Blue Moon Lodge by Lorna Landvik
  • Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
  • A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
  • Dear Committee Member by Julie Schumacher
  • The Dead Lands by Benjamin Percy
  • Vacationland by Sarah Stonich
  • Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden
  • Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  • Our Souls at Night by Kent Haruf
  • The Turner House by Angela Flournoy
     

Novel Writing Project Visiting Guests

Throughout the year, 4–6 visiting writers and publishing professionals will meet with your cohort as special guests. Examples of past guests include:

Laila Lalami
Rumaan Alam
Mira Jacob
Courtney Maum
Benjamin Percy
Sarah Stonich
Emily St. John Mandel
Joseph Boyden
Chris Cander
Shannon Gibney
Linda LeGarde Grover
Leif Enger
Julie Schumacher
Kaethe Schwehn
Lorna Landvik
Richard Blanco

… in addition to many other visiting writers and publishing professionals from local and national publishing houses, publications, and literary agencies.