Next Generation Indie Book Awards

Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Open Invitation
November 18, 2019

Calling all indie book authors and publishers—including small presses, mid-size independent publishers, university presses, e-book publishers, and self-published authors who have a book written in English released in 2018, 2019, or 2020 or with a 2018, 2019, or 2020 copyright date—to enter the most rewarding book awards program.

The Next Generation Indie Book Awards offers over 70 categories—more than 70 Awards—with over 70 monetary prizes totaling more than $10,000 in cash, including $1,500 cash prizes plus trophies for best fiction book and best nonfiction book, $750 cash prizes plus trophies for second-best fiction book and nonfiction book, and $500 cash prizes plus trophies for third-best fiction book and nonfiction book. Winners and Finalists will also receive:

- An invitation to the gala awards ceremony held at a landmark location in Chicago in June 2020 (during the American Library Association annual conference).

Exposure for a full year at as a winner or finalist.

- Listing in the 2020 Next Generation Indie Book Awards Catalog, which will be distributed to thousands of book buyers, media, and others.

- The opportunity to display finalist or winner gold award stickers on your book.

PLUS, the top 70 books will be sent to be reviewed by New York literary agent Marilyn Allen of Allen O'Shea Literary Agency or one of Ms. Allen's co-agents for possible representation (unless an entrant prefers not to have their book forwarded to the agent). Ms. Allen has over 25 years of sales and marketing experience, including serving as senior vice president, associate publisher, and director of marketing for Harper Collins and directing sales and marketing teams for Simon & SchusterPenguin Books, and Avon Books. Ms. Allen has had the pleasure of working with many best-selling authors including Stephen King, Ken Follett, Barbara Kingsolver, John Gray, Mary Higgins Clark, and many more.

Enter online at Deadline for the 2020 awards program is February 14, 2020.

Presented by Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group (IBPPG) in conjunction with Marilyn Allen of Allen O'Shea Literary Agency, the Next Generation Indie Book Awards was established to recognize and honor the top independently published books of the year. IBPPG was formed to provide support and recognition for the independent book publishing profession and we encourage all independent authors and publishers to enter their books in the 2020 Next Generation Indie Book Awards so that they too can earn recognition and receive other benefits from having an award-winning book.

"Independently-published books have become a major source for quality fiction and non-fiction, but often go unrecognized by the mainstream publishing industry," notes Marilyn Allen. "Finally, an award program has been created to recognize talented authors from this important segment of our industry. Our agency represents over 100 authors and we're always looking for new talent, so it is a great pleasure to be part of this program. We look forward to reviewing the works of the 70 best candidates and helping these authors gain the recognition they deserve."

All finalists and winners will be notified by late May 2020.