Board of Directors

Sept 1, 2021–Aug 31, 2022


Mike Meyer, Chair
Executive coach
Board chair, Nature Conservancy
Governance co-chair, Global Minnesota

Melinda Ward, Vice Chair
Former chief content officer, Public Radio International

Jon Austin, Treasure
Senior partner, J Austin & Associates

Anika Fajardo, Secretary
Writer and book reviewer

Beth Schoeppler, Interim President, Ex-Officio
Interim executive director, The Loft Literary Center




Dara Beevas
Co-founder, Wise Ink Creative Publishing
Board member, 826 Minnesota


Karlyn Coleman
Teacher, community volunteer, author


David Kilpatrick
Former board member, New London-Spicer Schools


Raki Kopernik
Fiction editor, MAYDAY Magazine


Kelly Jo McDonnell
Operations director, producer, writer, Minnesota Bound/Ron Schara Productions
Producer, Triumph Pictures


Ellen McInnis
Volunteer, Big Brother, Big Sisters
Member, Twin Cities Ukulele Club
Former government relations professional
Former chair, Minnesota State Arts Board


Dorothy Nins
Executive director, Minnesota Black Authors Expo
Program coordinator, Power of People Leadership Institute - Girls Taking Action


Sarah Olson
In-house counsel, Thrivent Financial


Ruth Shields
Retired division president, Time Warner
Emeritus board, Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity
Board member, Multiplying the Impact Campaign